Financement du logement en Comores

Vue d'ensemble

Pour télécharger une version pdf du profil du pays de l’Union des Comores 2021, cliquez ici.

L’Union des Comores a une population estimée au 1er juillet 2021 à 888 451, une légère augmentation par rapport au chiffre de 2020 de 869 595. Les Nations Unies estiment qu’environ 29,4% de la population vit dans des zones urbaines, faisant des Comores l’un des pays les moins populations urbanisées en Afrique. Les zones urbaines des Comores comprennent Moroni, Fomboni et Mutsamudu et celles-ci servent de municipalités du pays. L’indice de développement humain des Comores en 2019 était de 0,554 (0,583 pour les hommes et 0,519 pour les femmes) étant l’un des plus bas à 156 sur 189 pays. Le revenu national brut (RNB) par habitant aux Comores a augmenté d’environ 1,5 % entre 1990 et 2019. Cependant, les faibles niveaux d’activité de développement, les niveaux de pauvreté extrême et l’instabilité politique ont freiné l’expansion du développement du secteur du logement, y compris le logement social pour les les pauvres.

Les Comores sont l’un des pays les plus pauvres et les plus petits du monde, la majeure partie de sa population (en particulier celles vivant dans les zones rurales) dépendant de l’agriculture de subsistance et de la pêche pour leur subsistance. L’agriculture de subsistance produit du maïs, du manioc, des patates douces, des noix de coco, des ignames et du riz, la plupart des denrées alimentaires essentielles étant importées. Les Comores sont le deuxième producteur de vanille et le premier producteur mondial d’huile de parfum d’ylang-ylang. Cependant, il est en proie à de mauvaises conditions économiques, à une surpopulation, à un chômage important, au changement climatique, à de mauvaises récoltes et à un manque de transports adéquats. Environ 25% du PIB et les entrées de devises provenant de ces transferts dépassent celles provenant des exportations et des envois de fonds des migrants, principalement de France et de Madagascar.

Le pays a appliqué une stratégie de non-confinement pour lutter contre la pandémie et n’a pas institué de confinement total de la libre circulation. Le PIB réel a diminué de -0,9% en 2020 contre une croissance de 2% en 2019, en raison d’une réduction des recettes touristiques et d’une baisse des exportations de cultures de rente. De plus, les restrictions sur les voyages internationaux en 2020 ont fortement affecté le secteur des services qui représente plus de 50% du PIB. Du côté de la demande, la consommation de biens a stagné tandis que la croissance du taux d’investissement est tombée en 2020 à 1,8 %, contre 10,5 % en 2019. Le déficit budgétaire en 2020 a augmenté à 3,6 % du PIB, contre 2,1 % en 2019. est due à la crise économique provoquée par la crise du COVID-19 entraînant une baisse de la collecte des recettes fiscales. Selon le rapport Doing Business 2020 de la Banque mondiale, les Comores se classent au 160e rang sur 190 pays étudiés en 2020 contre 164 en 2019.

Pour en savoir plus sur le secteur du financement du logement des Comores, y compris les principales parties prenantes, les politiques importantes et l’abordabilité du logement:


Each year, CAHF publishes its Housing Finance in Africa Yearbook. The profile above is from the 2019 edition, which has up-to-date profiles for 55 African countries.

Télécharger l'annuaire
Neighbouring Countries Kenya Mozambique Tanzanie
En savoir plus

Housing Finance in Comoros

Overview

This profile is also available in French here.

To download a pdf version of the full 2021 Comoros country profile, click here.

The Union of Comoros has the estimated population as of 1 July 2021 was 888 451, a slight increase from the 2020 figure of 869 595. The United Nations estimates that around 29.4% of the population lives in urban areas, making Comoros one of the least urbanised populations in Africa. Urban areas in Comoros include Moroni, Fomboni, and Mutsamudu and these serve as the country’s municipalities. Human Development Index for Comoros in 2019 was 0.554 (0.583 for men and 0.519 for women) being one of the lowest at 156 out of 189 countries. The Gross National Income (GNI) per capita in Comoros has increased by approximately 1.5% between 1990 and 2019. However, low levels of development activity, extreme poverty levels, and political instability have curtailed the expansion of housing sector development, including social housing for the poor.

Comoros is one of the world’s poorest and smallest countries, with most of its population (especially those living in rural areas) relying on subsistence agriculture and fishing for their livelihoods. Subsistence agriculture yields maize, cassava, sweet potatoes, coconuts, yams, and rice, with most essential food supplies being imported. Comoros is the second-largest producer of vanilla and the world’s leading producer of ylang-ylang perfume oil. However, it is plagued by poor economic conditions, overpopulation, severe unemployment, climate change, poor harvests, and a lack of adequate transportation. About 25% of GDP and the foreign exchange inflows from these transfers exceed those derived from exports and migrant remittances mostly from France and Madagascar.

The country applied a non-containment strategy to fight the pandemic and did not institute a total lockdown on free movement. The real GDP declined by -0.9% in 2020 compared with 2% growth in 2019, due to a reduction in tourism revenues and a decline in the export of cash crops. Moreover, restrictions on international travel in 2020 strongly affected the service sector which accounts for more than 50% of GDP. From the demand side, consumption of goods stagnated while the growth in the investment rate fell in 2020 to 1.8%, up from 10.5% in 2019. The budget deficit in 2020 increased to 3.6% of GDP, compared with 2.1% in 2019. This is due to the economic slump brought about by the COVID-19 crisis leading to a lower collection of tax revenues. According to World Bank’s Doing Business 2020 report, Comoros was placed at 160 out of 190 countries surveyed in 2020 compared with 164 in 2019.

By the end of 2021, the Comorian economy is expected to grow by 3.5%, depending on the relaxation of COVID-19 lockdowns both globally and within the country. Travel restrictions have been relaxed and the airport is open to visitors with a negative test within the last 72 hours. As of July 2021, Comoroshas received 100,000 doses of the Chinese Covid-19 vaccine and distribution has already begun. It is also likely to receive 20% vaccine coverage by the end of 2021 through the COVAX initiative. The Comorian economy is also slowly recovering with budget deficits expected to reduce to 2.4% of GDP by the end of 2021. The current account deficit is expected to decline to 3.6% of GDP with an increased flow of external resources and financing in 2021.

Find out more information on the housing finance sector of Comoros, including key stakeholders, important policies, and housing affordability:


Each year, CAHF publishes its Housing Finance in Africa Yearbook. The profile above is from the 2021 edition, which has up-to-date profiles for 55 African countries.

Download yearbook
View more
View more
View more