Housing Finance in Éthiopie

Vue d'ensemble

Pour télécharger une version pdf du profil de pays complet de l’Éthiopie 2021, cliquez ici.

L’Éthiopie s’urbanise rapidement, même si c’est encore un pays essentiellement rural. La population urbaine du pays augmente de 4,7 % par an, avec 21,6 % de la population classée comme urbaine en 2020. Les exigences de cette croissance n’ont pas été compensées par l’accès aux emplois, aux services et au logement. La guerre civile a notamment créé une situation humanitaire désastreuse.

L’Éthiopie est un pays à faible revenu, avec une croissance économique moyenne de 9,4 % par an de 2010/11 à 2019/20. Cependant, plus récemment, en raison de la guerre dans la région du Tigré et des effets du COVID-19, la croissance du produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel du pays devrait chuter à 2 % en 2021. L’impact du COVID-19 sur l’activité économique a marquée, avec des effets notables sur l’emploi et une estimation de 20 % des pertes d’emplois en milieu urbain.

Le gouvernement éthiopien est impliqué dans des projets ambitieux avec un investissement fiscal public élevé et un financement par le crédit. Cela a cependant eu un inconvénient et l’exercice 2020 a vu le déficit public du pays devrait se creuser à 2,7 % en 2021. Compte tenu des limites évidentes de ces programmes pilotés par l’État, des efforts sont déployés au niveau national pour étendre le secteur privé. l’engagement et stimuler la compétitivité.

Pour en savoir plus sur le secteur du financement du logement en Éthiopie, y compris les principales parties prenantes, les politiques importantes et l’abordabilité du logement:


En savoir plus
En savoir plus

Housing Finance in Ethiopia

Overview

This profile is also available in French here.

To download a pdf version of the full 2021 Ethiopia country profile, click here.

Ethiopia is urbanising rapidly, although it is still a mainly rural country. The country’s urban population is increasing by 4.7 % a year, with 21.6 % of the population classified as urban in 2020. The demands of this growth have not been matched by access to jobs, services, and housing. The civil war has particularly created a dire humanitarian situation.

Ethiopia is a low-income country, averaging 9.4% economic growth a year from 2010/11 to 2019/20. However, more recently due to the war in the Tigray region and the effects of COVID-19, the country’s real gross domestic product (GDP) growth is expected to drop to 2% in 2021. The impact of COVID-19 on economic activity has been marked, with noteworthy effects on employment and an estimated 20% of job losses in urban areas.

The Ethiopian government is involved in ambitious projects with high public fiscal investment, and financing through credit. This has had a downside, however, and the 2020 fiscal year saw the country’s public deficit expected to widen to 2.7% in 2021. Given the evident limitations of these state-driven programs, efforts are being made at a national level to extend private sector engagement and boost competitiveness.

Find out more information on the housing finance sector of Ethiopia, including key stakeholders, important policies, and housing affordability:


Each year, CAHF publishes its Housing Finance in Africa Yearbook. The profile above is from the 2021 edition, which has up-to-date profiles for 55 African countries.

Download yearbook
View more
View more
View more
View more
View more